Home » Blogs » What are different types of building inspections?

What are different types of building inspection?

Types of Building Inspection

Basically, all the different types of building inspections involve the assessment of the building condition. It is the purpose that leads to the different types of inspection.  Different purposes require different outcomes out of the inspection and that is the keyword.

Following are different types of building inspections depending upon the purpose and scope of building inspection.

Building inspector

A building inspection is a standard assessment of the property condition and also called pre-purchase building inspection. It involves the visual assessment of the condition of the property by the licensed and qualified building inspector.

Timber Pest Inspection

Timber pest inspection or termite and pest inspection is a visual inspection of the property for present damage and future threat of the termites and pests. Traditionally inspection is carried out visually but these days many new tools are used which enhance the efficiency of the inspection. The common tools used for this purpose are SONAR-equipped sensors, moisture meters, and cameras that can see inside the tight crevices of the timber.

Building and Pest Inspection

Building and pest inspection is nothing but 2 inspections (Building Inspection and Timber Pest Inspection) packaged together.  It detects building defects under the building inspection part and termite damage/threat under the timber pest inspection part. 

New Home Inspection

New building inspection or New construction inspection involves the inspection of a building during its construction. New home construction is carried out in 5 stages as mentioned below:

  • Base Stage – The first inspection is carried out before the concrete is poured. This ensures that workmanship is up to the mark.
  • Frame Stage – The second stage inspection is conducted after the framework has been finished. The inspector inspects the constructed wall frames, their plumbing, and the correct installation of bracing.
  • Lockup/Pre-Plaster Stage– The third inspection is carried out just before the plastering of the ceiling and walls. By this point electricians, heating, plumbing, cooling, and other contractor’s work is finished. Pipe-work, roof covering, external doors, and windows are fixed.
  • Fixing Stage – The fourth stage of new home inspection involves the inspection of all the internal fixtures and fittings. In this stage, inspection is done for cabinets and cupboards, internal cladding, skirting, architrave, and sinks.
  • Final Inspection (PCI) – This is the fifth and final inspection of the property and also known as handover inspection. In this inspection all the fitting, paintwork, and finishing are inspector.  The inspector makes sure that there is no unfinished work there.

Handover Inspection

The handover inspection is done just before the developer or builder handover the keys to the owner. So this is in the way a final checkpoint for the quality.  Handover inspection involves the checking of construction work and installation in the new house.  This inspection ensures that the workmanship and material are up to the standard and as per the agreed-upon contract. The inspection involves the inspection of internal cladding, waterproofing, architraves, window, doors, built-in shelves, baths, troughs, skirting basins, sinks, vanity units, bench-tops, cabinets, and cupboards. Out of all the different types of building inspections, this is used for brand new homes. 

Dilapidation Inspection

If there is any danger to a building from any activity, then dilapidation inspection is the solution to conflicts caused by this situation. A dilapidation report is a detailed analysis and documentation of the condition of the building before and after the construction in the vicinity. The process helps to minimize the conflicts among the stakeholders.

A dilapidation report inspection is carried out in 2 phase

Phase 1: A report about structure and integrity of building prior to starting any work

Phase 2: A report to access any damage to property due to construction in the vicinity

Asbestos Inspection

The asbestos inspection involves the scanning of property of presence of asbestos and testing for it. Asbestos is naturally formed material found in construction material prior o 2003. Asbestos gets released into the air and becomes a health hazard. Asbestos inspection is conducted at a different levels depending upon the requirements.

Insurance Inspection

A home insurance inspection has two purposes:

  • Protect the insurance company from existing building issues that can cost the insurance company lot of money.
  • This insurance also helps the insurance company create the precise insurance cover.
  • At the time of claim, it helps to eliminate the claims for issues existing prior to the purchase of the policy.

Depreciation Inspection

The depreciation schedule is a report that outlines all available tax depreciation deductions for a residential investment property or commercial building. Most properties, new and old, have depreciation available.

So basically, all these different types of building inspections are the same task – assessing the condition of the building. It is only the purpose of that inspection that is different.

Types of Building Inspection